DIY: Alcohol Free Brush Cleanser

A month ago, I used a DIY: Brush Cleanser with tea tree oil and alcohol to spot clean my make up brushes. Unfortunately, it dried my brush and so, I looked for another option. Fortunately, I was able to “save” the brush by deep cleaning it using the cleaning agent mentioned in my that blog entry. So now, 2 of the brushes that became a bit dry/”hard” on the skin is back to its soft texture.

Sharing this video I found on youtube by Always Lorna Marie using tea tree oil and witch hazel. You could check it out by clicking this link.

Then, I made my own version of it with just a minor twist in the end. I added a few drops of lavender (to disinfect and to balance the earthy smell of tea tree oil and the “pastry”-like smell of the witchhazel.

Here’s my recipe:

  • Witchhazel
  • Tea Tree Oil
  • Lavender Oil
  • 30ml Spray bottle
  1. Fill the bottle (~25ml)
  2. Mix in 3ml Tea Tree Oil (TTO). But this depends on how strong you want TTO be. In the video the recommendation is 1 part TTO and 2 parts Witchhazel. For a 30 ml bottle that’s 10ml TTO and 20ml Witchhazel.
  3. Mix in a few drops of Lavender Oil (since it’s a bit strong, I just mixed 2-3 drops).
  4. Shake, shake, shake everytime you use it.

wpid-1436281142903.jpg wpid-img_20150707_225426.jpg wpid-sil-bottlespray.png

If you find it useful, please feel free to share your thought in the comments section. I’ll really appreciate it (^_^)

One thought on “DIY: Alcohol Free Brush Cleanser

Leave a Reply

